Hosts secure stunning victory in World Cup Group A opener


GROUP A REPORT

The first match of the 2018 World Cup between saw a comprehensive victory for the Russians

Russia thrashed Saudi Arabia to kick off the 2018 World Cup in fine style.

The hosts entered the tournament as the lowest ranked-team of all the 32 nations, having failed to win any of their six build-up games.

But they certainly didn’t appear like a team short on quality or confidence as they started their Group A campaign in blistering fashion.

Denis Cheryshev was the pick of Russia’s performers, with the Villarreal left-midfielder – once on Real Madrid’s books – scoring two sublime goals.

His display was all the impressive considering he started the game on the bench.

MOMENT OF THE MATCH

Having already netted Russia’s second goal in impressive style, Cheryshev was full of confidence and his second strike to make it 4-0 was the pick of all the goals. Collecting the ball outside the Saudi Arabia box, he took one touch and curled the ball with the outside of his left foot over the Saudi goalkeeper’s head and into the top corner.

NEXT GROUP A FIXTURES

Friday, June 15: Egypt v Uruguay – Ekaterinburg, 1pm kick-off

Tuesday, June 19: Russia v Egypt  – St Petersburg – 7pm, kick-off

Wednesday, June 20: Uruguay v Saudi Arabia (Group A) – Rostov-on-Don, 4pm kick-off

Monday, June 25: Uruguay v Russia (Group A) – Samara, 3pm kick-off

Monday, June 25: Saudi Arabia v Egypt (Group A) – Volgograd, 3pm kick-off



Source link

قالب وردپرس

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*